The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Just a spark…

GATORS WON 41-14 OVER OHIO STATE!!

You’ve seen that all over newspapers and such recently. It’s amazing that they were able to do that, and I personally am happy they won, but what’s even more amazing is how excited people get over stuff like that. Of course, Ohio fans aren’t very excited now, and I’m sure there’s some Gators celebrating still. Victory parties. For a while, this will be a big thing to people, but after a while it will inevitably fade into seclusion. Then I see pictures of these hardcore superfans who wait in line for like hours to see a game, fully clad (and/or painted) in their respective teams’ colors and merchandise, who have collected everything conceivable about their team, who basically plan their lives around “The Game,” and I ask myself why they would do that. What makes them a superfan? The answer is simple: they’re passionate about it. They live for the thrill of their team’s victory, the disappointment associated with their team’s loss, and everything in between. They LOVE it. They can’t get enough of it. I look at them in amazement, then sit back and think, “Wait a minute, I’ve been given the BEST gift of ALL TIME: I’ve been forgiven of my sins through Christ Jesus, My Lord and Savior. GOD HIMSELF came to Earth to die for ME. WHY AM I STILL SITTING DOWN ? I should be out PRAISING HIS NAME !!! I should be telling others what He’s done. I should get EXCITED ABOUT HIM !!! That’s FAR BETTER than a football team winning a championship game.” Honestly, I wonder just how different the world would be if we as Christians got as excited and crazy for Christ as these superfans do for their teams. I mean, come on, Jesus gave His LIFE for us, and all too often, we take it for granted, or maybe even seem to lessen the importance of His sacrifice through our attitudes toward it. We sit in our comfortable little Christian bubbles, wearing our cool Christian T-shirts and cross necklaces, listening to our nice Christian music and sorta isolating ourselves from the world. Now don’t get me wrong, I like all our cool Christian stuff, but there’s more to being a Christian than just dressing like one and going to church every Wednesday night and Sunday morning. It’s an everyday struggle with the forces of evil. WE ARE FIGHTING FOR OUR LIVES. Not physically, but SPIRITUALLY. Satan’s darts are flying at us and if we don’t take our walk with Christ seriously and keep our armor in tip-top shape, we’re gonna get blasted. WE NEED TO WAKE UP !!! Just think how different our families, friends, neighborhoods, cities, counties, states, and nation would be if we actually took a stand for the Lord. Think how different things would be if we weren’t ashamed of the blood on our hands from Christ’s sacrifice. I bet you anything that if we were just for one day we were as crazy and charged up for Christ as those football (or any sport for that matter) superfans were for their teams, we would see a huge change in our lives and the world as well. Yes, it’s true that Satan is still the Prince of this world for now, but even the smallest spark can start a wildfire. I don’t know about you guys, but I WANNA BE THAT SPARK, or at least part of it. Let’s celebrate Christ’s victory every day, everywhere, every chance we get. Let’s see just how much we can change the world. Until next time, brothers and sisters, GOD BLESS YOU ALL and have a good night !!

– Brian M.

One response

  1. Adam

    You’ve got a great point here man. When I read this I can’t help but be reminded of the book of Acts. Whenever one of the apostles would receive persecution, they would immediately shout praises to the Lord without ceasing. Thats truly an inspiration. But look at the majority of Christians today. We’re so caught up in our daily lives we stop looking for ways to bring glory to God when we need to seek first the Kingdom of God. Then all of these things will be added unto us. Very well said man.

    July 29, 2008 at 10:46

Leave a Reply

