The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

I’ll Praise You In THIS Storm…

I’m not gonna lie, life’s been kinda hard for me lately (sorry, this is gonna be kinda long).

It’s an interesting story…
My dad had a sinus infection about two months ago but doctors cleared that up…then about a month and a half ago, he lost all feeling in his left leg from the knee down due to a blood clot…we took him to the hospital, the clot was cleared, but the doctors discovered he has lung cancer…Stage IV lung cancer at that (which is the worst kind…it’s spread from the lung to his liver and adrenal glands and prolly farther now)…his right lung collapsed due to it…the space filled with fluid…the doctors put in a chest tube and he has to be on an oxygen machine (not a ventilator; he can still breathe on his own)…just tonight he was moved outta the hospital to a hospice home to basically shrivel up and die…so I’m just a lil bit tired/frustrated/etc…
It’s so weird cuz before that happened with his leg, he didnt show any signs…didn’t even have a smoker’s cough (even tho he’d been smoking since the 60’s)…never got sick a day in his life…it all just happened so quick

I know it’s in God’s hands, and there’s a small army of people already prayin for him, but I don’t think he’s gonna last much longer.

Also, I need to find a job (VERY soon) to help a bit with the bills.

So basically that’s been my life up till now…couldn’t be better, right? Oh, and just to clear things up, this is NOT a pity party, simply an update for those who care…

Nevertheless, I know God has a purpose for this and for all that happens in my life, and I couldn’t ask for a better person to hold it all in his hands. He’s never left us hangin before and I’m sure He won’t do that now. I don’t know exactly why this is all happening now, but I still know that it’ll all work out somewhere down the road. I just wish that the Lord would outline why He lets various trials come our way, but I guess if He did that all the time, our faith wouldn’t have much chance to grow, and that’s what I believe this is: a growth pain. God’s stretching our faith, and I’m thankful for it, even tho I wish He’d picked a different way.

It’s a new phase of my life I’m entering, and if I plan on being an effective witness for Christ now and youth leader later, I need all the stretching I can get. I can be a bit thick-skulled sometimes, but I’m thankful that the Lord doesn’t give up on us even when we give up on Him. He could work a miracle and heal my dad, or He could choose not to. Whatever the case may be, I won’t ask Him to deliver me from this trial, knowing the testing of my faith produces patience, and that’s something I’ll need when dealing with all the little knotheads in my future job.

=============================================

“Blessed be Your name,
When the sun’s shining down on me.
When the world’s all as it should be,
Blessed be Your name.

Blessed be Your name,
On the road marked with suffering.
Though there’s pain in the offering,
Blessed be Your name.”

– Matt Redman, “Blessed Be Your Name”

=============================================

“When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.”

– Horatio Spafford, “It is Well With My Soul”

==============================================

“I will praise You in this storm,
And I will lift my hands.
For You are Who You are,
No matter where I am.
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand.
You never left my side,
And though my heart is torn,
I will praise You in this storm.”

– Casting Crowns, “Praise You in This Storm”

One response

  1. ((HUGS))

    [audio src="http://people.csail.mit.edu/garyl/mp3/jars-valley.mp3" /]

    October 7, 2008 at 12:32

Leave a Reply

