The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Father’s Day

It seems so unreal…this time last year I was cutting up with my dad and enjoying his company. Who knew it would be completely different the next year. It’s been over seven months since he passed away…the one who picked me up after school, the one who always fell asleep in his recliner, the one who made our porch into a virtual jungle, the one who always had his coffee cup within arm’s reach, the one whose voice blended so well with my mother’s and mine. It’s amazing how quickly a day of celebration can become a day of reflection and mourning. It’s amazing how brief our lives on this earth truly are. It’s amazing how smoking can tear a family apart.

What kind of legacy are we going to leave when our time comes? When we take that final step into eternity, are we going to be able to look back on our lives with a feeling of satisfaction, or will we leave with a feeling of regret? It all depends on the choices that we make. We aren’t promised tomorrow or even the next breath, but that doesn’t mean we need to mope about our inevitable end. We need to live life to the fullest while we still can, seek the Lord’s direction in every situation, and live our lives completely for His glory, because in the grand scope of eternity, nothing else really matters.

While I don’t have an earthly father anymore, I do have a Heavenly Father Who can’t wait to wrap His arms around me and tell me everything is going to be alright. He’s the only reason I’ve been able to survive this storm. The sorrow may last for the night, but His joy comes with the morning. Every day He refreshes my spirit, even on tough days like this. He is my reason for living, He’s my reason for breathing, He’s my reason for being, and though there are still going to be rough waters, my Anchor will always hold firm.

4 responses

  1. Peter

    words could not have been better said Brian. I believe that through writing that, your heavenly father was comforting you and speaking through you for others to hear. It sure touched me. Thank you for holding strong in your faith…you certainly have weathered many storms and it’s been a privilege to endure a few with you.

    I’ll be in Egypt in almost a week. Thanks for your sincere not last year in India…I didn’t open in fear of the ninjas. It’s good we hung out a little bit before I left, but now I’ll be in North Carolina until my departure. So when I get back, the hanging out will begin!

    Thanks once again for sharing your life with me this last year and a half. You are a mighty man of integrity and valor. I can’t wait to see what God does in your future and am excited to share it with you!
    –your brother

    June 15, 2008 at 23:08

  2. kelly m

    brian!!
    this is amazzing! your words were excellent and i know just how you feel about this holiday that seemed so sad this year…my dad passed away in january so i relate to your pain oh so well. I’m sorry for your loss..but you’re right. GOd has a plan for all of this and we have to trust him. i love your words saying how no matter wat storms or rough waters you may go through, God will be your anchor and hold you in place. i love that. such an encouragement brian. thankss! :)

    June 15, 2008 at 23:12

  3. Great post Brian – I love your perspective . . .

    June 16, 2008 at 09:32

  4. Eowyn

    I knew there was a reason I liked you. lol! I really admire your strength and hopefulness during this tough time. I’ve seen many of my friends go through this loss, and it’s one I may have to bear too soon in my life as well. Just keep going strong and trusting in your Abba God. (Your Daddy God, as we like to say…) You’ll be in my prayers. :) ((HUGS))

    June 28, 2008 at 13:39

Leave a Reply

