The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Black

A shadow falls,
Blocking out the light.

My eyes are blinded
In the depths of this night.

I look to the sky,
Lift my voice in fright.

I cry for help,
Falling deeper out of sight.

The black threatens to crush me
As I stumble, crumble, and strive to fight.

My hope had all but gone,
When Grace fell from a great height.

It reached to me,
Not because it was my right,

But because Love saw me,
And captured me in its might.

It fell on my face,
And washed me white.

Now I stand complete,
Redeemed, healed, and bright.

One response

  1. Loren Fay

    me= dark is how i feel quite often, as of now.
    this poem= where i want to be in the end of all
    of this mess.. redeemed, healed & bright.

    August 8, 2008 at 00:21

Leave a Reply

