The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

If Not For Love

Ah, my sweet Uncertainty!
I’ve known you all my life.
If not for Love’s revelation,
You would certainly be my guide.

Ah, my friend Comfort!
So often I’ve sought your face.
If not for Love’s direction,
Your poison would seal my fate.

Ah, my blissful Ignorance!
So often your joy did I seek.
If not for Love’s embrace,
Your lies would have smothered me.

Ah, my steady Routine!
Your cradle made me feel fine.
If not for Love’s true life,
Your grip would have ended mine.

Ah, my unwavering Love!
I owe it all to You.
If not for Your faithfulness,
I’d be lost without a clue.

2 responses

  1. kennethm57

    your poems go down smooth in my ears like sunny-D goes down my throat

    August 28, 2008 at 02:59

  2. eowynfair

    You know, this kind of reminds me of Emily Dickenson, for some reason. I like it. :D

    October 12, 2008 at 20:04

Leave a Reply

