The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Butterfly

Time flies by like a butterfly,
And I’m left holding the cocoon.
I fear my dreams may fall like the sky
If I don’t resolve this soon.

Though my life’s crunched in a vice,
I try to squeeze in a little more.
I’m walking on a thin sheet of ice
As I try to reach that distant door.

I need to find a place of release
To rest my weary head.
If this pattern does not soon cease,
I fear the bridge will break up ahead.

Amidst the chaos, I hear a voice
Plain as the noonday sky.
It speaks softly amidst the noise
And gives me peace tonight:

“Fear not, my son, I love you,
And you’re never alone.
I’m not yet done,
So there’s no need to moan.”

“Be still, step back, and look inside
For how best to use your time.
Have patience like the butterfly
And everything will work out fine.”

3 responses

  1. Eowyn

    I love metaphors… I know the feeling of being crunched, I’ve been through a lot of junk in my life too. But the great thing is that we’re never alone; God is always there with us, carrying us through the toughest times in our lives. And he sends friends and helpers to come alongside us and lift us up. I’m here for you if ever you need me. :)

    October 7, 2008 at 03:03

  2. kenneth

    bout time you posted again! great poem BTW I can relate for sure

    October 7, 2008 at 22:37

  3. Stephanie

    Brian, this is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

    October 11, 2008 at 13:05

Leave a Reply

