The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Red Dawn

Morning breaks (A red dawn)

The earth shakes (Lines are drawn)

My heart aches (I’m just a pawn)

The shadow fakes (The light’s not on)

Raise your fists up to the sky

We’re storming the strongholds tonight

Fight your way through the dark abyss

I never knew it would come to this

Morning breaks (A red dawn)

The earth shakes (Lines are drawn)

My heart aches (I’m just a pawn)

The shadow fakes (The light’s not on)

Raise your banners into the dead space

We’re staring death straight in the face

Fight to keep your resolve alive

I need righteousness to survive

Morning breaks (A red dawn)

The earth shakes (Lines are drawn)

My heart aches (I’m just a pawn)

The shadow fakes (The light’s not on)

Raise your voice in protest to atrocity

We’re always surrounded by ferocity

Fight as valiant comrades fall beside

I need strength to persist in this unforgiving tide

Morning breaks (A red dawn)

The earth shakes (Lines are drawn)

My heart aches (I’m just a pawn)

The shadow fakes (The light’s not on)

Raise your face to the morning sun

We’re still alive, the battle’s far from done

Fight until my dying day

I need Your life inside to say:

Morning breaks (A red dawn)

The earth shakes (Lines are drawn)

My heart aches (I’m not a pawn)

The shadow fakes (The light’s coming on)

2 responses

  1. eowynfair

    Wow…

    We do need to fight to stay strong in this world. So many people are falling away because it’s difficult to stand up for what’s right. :(

    October 21, 2008 at 12:31

  2. kenneth

    great poem man.

    October 21, 2008 at 23:18

Leave a Reply

