The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Redemption

Fallen, I am,
Like a bird from a tree,
Seeking shelter among piles of leaves;

Broken and worn,
My face bowed to the floor,
I chase respite and health and release.

Upward I look,
Like a sprout to the sun,
Longing to grow in its warmth,

Tho’ pressure and wrath
And the shame of my past
Keep blocking the light like a storm.

Lifted, I am,
From the mire of despair,
And placed upon Rock to stand firm;

My heart has been sealed,
And is gradually healed
As I grow and move forward and learn.

Onward, I run,
Like a train without brakes,
Following the tracks wherever they may lead;

Not looking back,
But moving forward full speed,
Guided by unseen Hands and great peace.

One response

  1. Wow. I really like your poetry. Emotional and very human, but always a ray of hope at the end. Always hopeful, always trusting in Him. I like that. :)

    October 28, 2008 at 23:56

Leave a Reply

