The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Memorial

As I lay me down to sleep,

Images flare in my mind

Fierce as the morning sun,

Terrible as a tidal wave,

Painful as a knife in the gut.

Oh, if only you could see!

The pain of loss,

Naught but a toxic fume,

Consumes my heart

Like a dreadful, heavy blanket

And makes my dreams

Turn to terrible frights

Until the late watches of the night.

One year has passed

Since I saw you last

And a rough one it has been.

I’m haunted by memories

Of that hospital bed and

That look of dread on your face

As you embraced eternity

And left this broken land.

I wear your cross around my neck,

A memorial and a resolve

To daily seek the God you served

As I walk in the light of His Word.

Faith is my right hand man,

Grace is my source of life,

Peace is found through the Lamb,

Love is the enemy of strife,

Kindness flows from this forgiven heart,

Strength comes from Your hand,

Mercy rains from heaven above,

Hope fills the faithful in this land.

Though I miss you as this day creeps on,

In the pain I can’t help but rejoice

At the thought that we will meet again

And sing one more time with one voice

To the Lamb that redeemed us from the fall,

Who called us all by name,

And loved us enough to die in our place

To destroy all our guilt and our shame.

R.I.P. Terry Austin Morgan,
Beloved Father and Friend

(05/22/46 – 11/11/07)

3 responses

  1. eowynfair

    ((HUGS))

    November 11, 2008 at 23:23

  2. kenneth

    :/ hopeful indeed

    November 11, 2008 at 23:47

  3. Loren Fay.

    this made me cry so hard.

    April 15, 2009 at 22:53

Leave a Reply

