The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Ramblings

As the stars above dance their dances

My heart seems to rend at the seams

The timeline of life takes no chances

To heal all these broken dreams

 

Step one, fall two

Up three, back four

Deeds done, fight You

Bow the knee, am restored

 

My feet become calloused and bruised

As this rut I’m in grows to a trench

Pure Love, thrown down, beaten, abused

Pure Grace, empty fists now are clenched

 

Pray once, pray twice,

Pray thrice, and again.

Your death, my life,

Is the price of my sin.

 

What more can I do but surrender

To this Mercy that found me so foul?

Yet, my thoughts, constant tremors, are hindered

As the sweat turns to blood on my brow.

One response

  1. This is intense, and well- written. I know the feeling of that rut, I’ve been there far too many times, and the reason for getting into it is different each time, and so also is the way of getting out. Just remember, you have friends who have tried to help you up when you’ve been down, and these friends would have done anything for you…and I think they still would. Just don’t be afraid to ask us for help. I don’t want you to go through anything alone. ((HUGS))

    November 20, 2009 at 12:03

Leave a Reply

