The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Untitled

Wretched, wicked, false, and perverted,

Oh, my Lord, we don’t deserve it,

How, in spite of our mess, You reached into our distress and defeated death,

Content to be rejected, broken, debased, and hated,

So that You might save some of us.

How You can stand to rescue us, even amongst the animosity,

Destroys all our logic and pretty philosophies,

And shows us how foolish we really are.

Oh, my Lord, You’ve gone too far!

We can never repay even a hint of the grace that flowed from your wounds,

Or the tears that fell from Your beautiful face as You willingly took our place

And suffered such disgrace, considering it all joy.

My God, You are beyond worthy,

So why do we rob You?

You quench the lips of the thirsty,

So why do we slight You?

You change our hearts and break our chains;

Why do we rationalize, box You in, and disobey?

I shudder to think about the lies we’ve agreed with.

Why do You tolerate our disdain? Are we really worth that much to You?

No greater love exists than the one that You’ve shown.

I worship You, for it’s all that I know to do.

In response to such great sacrifice,

The LEAST I can do is offer You my life,

Yet so often, I’m consumed with lesser things.

Oh, my God, that You would change my heart

And set me apart as one who will never stray!

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Your death and Your life, they redeemed me.

Your love and Your grace, they set me free

To be child You called me to be.

One response

  1. you know, you are such an awesome man of God. i don’t think you hear that enough. and i know you don’t feel it. but you really, really are. God is working in you and through you and it shows everyday. the best part is: you’re letting Him. you’re not fighting Him or running, you’re just letting Him do the work He wants to do, and that’s genuinely amazing. you said that the time we’ve spent together has been a blessing to you and, let me tell you, it has been for me as well. keep running the race :) i’m right here, running with you and praying for you!

    May 15, 2011 at 00:52

Leave a Reply

