The deep inner workings of a beggar's mind

Goal Setting

Dreams are some of the trickiest things for me to think of, because I hadn’t really sat down to consider it much before I started working with my newest job, but the more I think about them, the more I realize they’re essential to life. After all, if I don’t have a clear understanding of where I want to go or what I want to be like, I can’t begin to make the changes necessary to be sure I get there. So, I decided to sit down and plan it out. I’m breaking it up into sections to make it easier for me to decipher, so here goes. My top whatever-the-number-ends-up-being list for things I want to accomplish, places I want to go, etc, etc. This list will be continually updated, so it should be interesting to see how large it gets. Also, many are ongoing goals, so it’s not as if I’ll suddenly “arrive” at most of them, but hey, it’ll give me the direction I need to succeed and live a fulfilling life.

– Brian

(Special shout-out to my manager, Mike, even though you may never see this. Without your guidance, I probably wouldn’t have realized the value in keeping track of these things.)

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Travel goals:

  1. Visit Ireland
  2. Dive the Great Barrier Reef
  3. Go on an African safari
  4. See the pyramids at Giza
  5. Walk along the Great Wall of China
  6. Ride a Japanese bullet train and experience the night life in Tokyo/Osaka
  7. Spend a weekend (or two) in each of the 50 states
  8. See the remnants of the Berlin Wall
  9. Watch a soccer game in Spain
  10. Return to Guatemala and see the Mayan cities in the North
  11. Take part in a festival in Rio de Janiero
  12. Spend a week in the Virgin Islands
  13. BAHAMAS!!
  14. Go on a Caribbean cruise
  15. Spend a couple weeks in England, then take the chunnel to Paris
  16. Go surfing in Hawaii (learn from the best)
  17. Go snowboarding in Canada
  18. Backpack across Europe
  19. Hike the Appalachian Trail
  20. Visit space (Yes, that’s technically a travel goal :P)
  21. Take a boat through the fjords in Scandinavia
  22. See the Kremlin
  23. Take the LotR tour in New Zealand (visit Hobbiton and the like ^^)
  24. Canoe down the Amazon River
  25. Explore a rain forest
  26. See the sights in Washington, D.C.
  27. Visit Constantinople

Physical goals:

  1. Join a gym and get a steady routine in place
  2. Improve my endurance enough to run a marathon
  3. Learn parkour
  4. 175 lbs, 8% body fat
  5. Bike 20 miles without stopping
  6. Return to the Ultimate Frisbee circuit
  7. Play baseball in a league
  8. Learn and master multiple styles of martial arts
  9. Bench twice my weight (~300 lbs)
  10. Develop healthier eating habits
  11. Develop a consistent sleep schedule

Artistic goals:

  1. Write a worship song that inspires and touches people and spreads to multiple churches across the nation and goes overseas
  2. Be able to play basically any song from any genre on guitar by ear
  3. Learn drums
  4. Learn piano
  5. Finish and publish my story (http://got88.wordpress.com)(Yes, this IS a shameless plug.)
  6. Create a video game based off said story
  7. Draw my own comic books
  8. Take up digital art
  9. Become a Photoshop whiz
  10. Record a CD and create change with my music
  11. Perfect my sketch/art style

Material goals:

  1. Design and build my own home near the beach
  2. Have a music room/recording studio in my home
  3. Get an awesome digital drawing pad
  4. Learn how to invest and set up a number of solid investments to ensure a better future for my family
  5. Create a “vision board”
  6. Get a reliable car that I can tweak and tune and make awesome

Spiritual goals:

  1. Read through the entire Bible cover to cover at least once per year
  2. Go on a short-term missions trip every couple years
  3. Spend at least 1 month overseas on mission
  4. Overcome my biggest temptation
  5. Make God THE priority
  6. Change someone’s life each year for the better
  7. Write a sound commentary on the Scriptures
  8. Develop a voracious hunger for knowing God more
  9. Deepen my intimacy with God
  10. Become educated in the precepts of the other religions of the world so I can have good in-depth conversations based on facts and not assumptions or hearsay and accurately defend my own faith against the accusations of those from other backgrounds
  11. Figure out what my spiritual gifts are and how to effectively use them

Educational goals:

  1. Become multilingual (Spanish, French, German, Russian, Japanese, and Gaelic)
  2. Get a Masters degree
  3. Study abroad for a semester
  4. Develop a love for reading
  5. RESEARCH, RESEARCH, RESEARCH!! (Always have a factual basis or at least understand why I believe what I believe)
  6. Learn to fix cars
  7. Learn to design and repair computers
  8. Learn to program computers
  9. Build a lightsaber

Character goals:

  1. Remain honest, even in times where a lie would produce a less painful outcome in the moment
  2. Conquer my tendency toward laziness
  3. Learn to embrace leadership instead of dreading it
  4. Be the type of person I’d want to follow
  5. Remain humble, even if blessed with fame or fortune
  6. Always be available to listen and be willing to give advice if it’s asked for
  7. Always put others’ needs before my own – selflessness, not selfishness
  8. Help others discover the best version of themselves
  9. CANI – Constant And Never-ending Improvement
  10. Conquer my stage fright completely
  11. Stop beating myself up/tearing myself down so much
  12. Always put the focus on the positives and possibilities of the future and not dwell on the regrets of the past
  13. Be aggressive, but not overbearing or destructive when seeking new possibilities
  14. Learn to be more assertive
  15. Learn to say “no”

Misc. goals (Ones I couldn’t think of a good category for):

  1. Get married
  2. Have 2 kids (one of each)
  3. Go skydiving
  4. Ride a jet ski
  5. Become a powerful public speaker
  6. Learn how to effectively balance work and play
3 responses

  1. I can help you with at least 3 of those: drums, repairing computers, and programming computers. This list is so extensive that you’d best not waste any time getting started.

    December 5, 2013 at 06:16

    • I like it. When you free? XD

      December 5, 2013 at 22:35

  2. All good things! Goal-setting is a great practice. Pick some currently achievable goals, determine how you will get there, and get started! There are some great yearly Bibles out there that can help with that part of it!

    December 8, 2013 at 18:14

Leave a Reply

